Empowered by the Spirit

“But I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh.”  – Galatians 5:16

 I used to be a very angry person. When I was younger, I used to have fits of rage which I didn’t feel able to control. Nobody was safe from my wrath, I would scream and shout and have tantrums and nothing my parents could say would change anything. I was in self-destruct mode, I wanted to be happy, kind and nice but I just couldn’t force myself in to these traits!

Galatians 5 tells us that living by the Spirit (that is the Holy Spirit) is the opposite to living life ruled by the flesh. When we live by the flesh, we live by sexual immorality, impurity, idolatry, jealousy, rivalries and fits of anger, to name but a few (Galatians 5: 20-21). But the good news is that when we live by the Spirit everything changes, we swap those ugly traits for the fruits of the Spirit; love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control (Galatians 5: 22-23). In fact, Galatians tells us that not only are these nasty traits gone, they have been crucified with Christ, put to death once and for all at the cross (Galatians 5: 24).

When we are filled by the Spirit, He begins to inhabit every fibre of our being. He takes over us; He helps us to be the people we are called to be, to live how we are called to live. “(The Father will give you) another Helper, to be with you forever” John 14: 16. The Holy Spirit is our Helper and He is not going anywhere.The Holy Spirit empowers us to overcome the areas we struggle with, we don’t need to depend on ourselves anymore, but we depend on the power of Him alone.

I don’t get angry anymore, in fact I can’t even remember the last time I said a cross word to my parents. The Holy Spirit has altered me in a way that I can’t begin to explain, I know that the change in me is the result of Him and Him alone. I am filled with the Holy Spirit and now I live empowered by Him.

freedom

One thought on “Empowered by the Spirit

Leave a Reply

