I wish I was beautiful…

I have never been comfortable with the way I look, I’ve always been to fat, too spotty, too big in the nose department, too small in the lip department… if it wasn’t one thing it was another. I could never, ever be happy.

I used to think if I lost a stone I would be happy, then I lost a stone and I realised that I still wanted to lose another.

But then I found someone who makes me feel truly beautiful, and no, I am not talking about my boyfriend (although he tells me I’m beautiful all the time).

Jesus showed me my true value, my true beauty. Songs of Solomon is a book in the Bible which depicts a bride and a groom, but also God and His people. Song of Solomon 4:7 says “You are altogether beautiful, my love, there is no flaw in you.” and this is what I believe God says to us. There is no blueprint in the Bible about how we are supposed to look, what dress size we are supposed to be or a perfect length for our eyelashes and I think this is because God is not interested in this concept of worldly beauty.

The world sells us this image of beauty, the perfectly slim but curvaceous, tall, woman with a clear complexion and perfectly symmetrical facial features, but this isn’t reality. I’m not saying that woman isn’t beautiful, she is, but no more so than any of the rest of us. The Bible tells us in Romans 12:2 “Do not conform to the image of this world” and buying in to this warped idea of beauty is doing exactly that…

Of course, be healthy; exercise and diet are a key part of taking care of the temple! But I am trying to shake myself free of my fixation on losing weight & being pretty… I love chocolate and I’m not about to give that up for anything!

This is something that I struggle with constantly and have done for most of my life BUT I am determined to see myself how God sees me. The Bible tells us that “man looks at the outward appearance, but God looks at the heart.” 1 Samuel 16:7 and from now on I hope to focus on making my heart more beautiful, not my outer self.

Whether we are fat, thin, chubby, tall, short, brunette, blonde, black, white, or anything else.. we are women and we are BEAUTIFUL! (And men, you are lovely too.)

beauty

3 thoughts on “I wish I was beautiful…

Leave a Reply

