A Waiting Game

I always find that time seems to go a lot more slowly when I’m waiting for a delayed train than when I am rushing to make it on to one on time. Its weird how 15 minutes can seem like 2 hours sometimes and 3 seconds at others. I used to get this a lot in school, why did 6 weeks drag on like a prison sentence during school yet 6 weeks flew by in the holidays and before you knew it you were back to the mundane all over again!

I feel that recently God is teaching me a lot about patience. Its so easy to say ‘yeah it will work out all in God’s timing’ and a totally different thing entirely actually waiting for it. Sometimes I can fall in to the trap of thinking that God is making me wait for something purely for his own fun. It can be so annoying waiting for something, the feeling that it is just gnawing away at you… like you’ve got ants in your pants!

Despite what some preachers may say, Jesus never promised us a perfect life. Well actually He did, but not one this side of heaven. Jesus said that our road is NARROW. We live in a world where everything has to be right here, right now. I’m hungry, can’t be bothered to cook so I’ll order a pizza. Then we actually complain when the pizza comes a few minutes late! The internet has given us the answer to so many questions at just the click of a button so we can be coerced in to imagining that it should be the same with God.

God is not in a competition with your iPhone. He does not have to prove how quickly he can do things, he works everything out in HIS perfect timing. Not always what we would imagine but hey ho … guess we’re not God are we? (Shocker, I know).

Patience is a virtue, (sound like your grandma now don’t I) don’t be sucked in by the fast-food culture of today… God’s got it under control.

“Wait patiently for the LORD. Be brave and courageous. Yes, wait patiently for the LORD.” Psalm 27:14 NLT

hourglass

Leave a Reply

