becoming a cheap date…

So, many of you will have seen my last blog post about why I am getting married and I thought I would share a bit about our preparation process! I must say, it has been a bit of an emotional roller coaster. I have been known to go from so extremely excited and happy, to stressed, emotional, tired, frustrated, nervous and all within the space of about half an hour!

One thing that totally shocked me was, despite how many wedding blogs I have read, how many ‘cheap wedding ideas’ I have pinned on pinterest and how many money-saving articles I have trawled through… oh my goodness, everything is so expensive. How disillusioned I was before. And with the average wedding in the UK costing over £25,000 (flippin’ eck!) something had to give for Josh and me. We have been saving since January and with a little help from my wonderful parents we have come up with a budget which I am not ashamed to say is not even one quarter of the the average. So naturally, we aren’t having a three course meal in a manor house with a £3,000 dress but we are having something that is just totally us. No fuss, no frills, just chilled out and relaxed.

One thing I had to take a moment to do when thinking about the wedding is to just totally get over myself. This wedding is not about me. This wedding is not about Josh. The whole wedding industry forces the idea down your throat that your wedding is the one day of your life that you are totally centre of attention so goodness me you need to make yourself look good. But taking a step back Josh & I came to the conclusion that our wedding day isn’t about us… in fact we want to use our wedding day to glorify Jesus and lift his name high. Of course everything at our wedding is going to be the stuff that we like… but I want to get to a stage where I am secure enough in myself to not be the centre of attention on my wedding day. That’s not to say that other people are wrong, that’s just how we wanted our wedding day to be.

So over the past couple of months, we have had to really, really strip our lifestyles back and not spend unnecessary money and oh my goodness it has been difficult. We love eating out but that has had to stop, ‘date night’ has become ‘netflix night’ and as someone who absolutely loves clothes… I have really had to stop looking in my wardrobe and screaming ‘I have no clothes!!!!!!!’.  I have also spent a tonne of time googling ‘cheap dates’!

On Saturday we decided to have a ‘date night in’… we bought a pizza from asda, whacked some candles in jars and put on some nice clothes. It wasn’t much, but it was enough. It was what we needed. If you’re a bride and you’re reading this in the same boat as me… I encourage you to give this a go!!!

Someone once advised me to never be engaged longer than a year… I now totally understand why!!! No matter how chilled out you try to be, planning a wedding will be one of the most stressful times of your life. There will fights, there will be tears, there will be times when you seriously consider running away to gretna green… but keep focused on what’s to come.

To be honest, I think this is a picture of what our lives as Christians should be like anyway. Life has its challenges… nobody can deny that. Jesus told us that our path is narrow. But we must remember what is coming…soon there will be a wedding. Jesus will come back for His bride, the church and that is how we get through the tough times. Keep the end in sight!

“Let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God.” Hebrews 12:1-2

image

One thought on “becoming a cheap date…

  1. Always a pleasure reading your blogs Kate – you make it really clear how much of a journey your both on pre-wedding which is so refreshing. Thanks for your honesty!

Leave a Reply

