instagram life and lies

I don’t know about you, but recently I have really caught the ‘youtuber’ bug. Since I had some free time over the summer whilst I was babysitting, I loved finding new videos to just sit back and enjoy!

I am currently obsessed with anything MAKE UP – to me, make up was always just concealer, powder, eyeliner and mascara, not a make up brush in sight. MAN OH MAN WAS I MISSING OUT! Since my sister first taught me about the uses of bronzers and blusher, I have been hooked and youtube has only fueled this fire. I have entered a new realm of contouring, blendable eye shadow and highlight although I have yet to master the liquid eyeliner ‘flick’. I love make up, I’m not embarrassed to say it! I have even recently got my very own make up station (a desk that was supposed to be for studying, but alas, my priorities have changed!) with everything laid out beautifully (when it’s tidy) my oh my have I come a long way from a mascara shoved on the floor by my mirror.

I genuinely have begun to see make up as a hobby… I hate it when people say “you don’t need make up to be beautiful” uhhh honey, please, I know! I don’t wear make up just to make me feel beautiful, although I can’t deny how fabulous it feels to go out knowing today is  a really good make up day. I enjoy wearing make up and I don’t think that’s a bad thing, so if you’re not someone who wears make up – good for you! But don’t make other people feel bad if they do.

I also love clothes, I have a blog post coming soon about a little clothing project I have undertaken this year so I won’t say too much about that. But I love to follow personal style bloggers on instagram and get outfit inspiration daily from them. Since I started following ‘professional instagrammers’ I have noticed that my instagram might’ve needed some TLC – maybe I should start using more filters or cropping things in a certain way. And this is fine, we all like to express ourselves on social media and to an extent that’s not a bad thing. But the problem is that cliche that we see everyone else’s highlight reel when we see our behind the scenes. We don’t see the days when these style bloggers wear leggings and a big t shirt because they’re spending the day indoors editing or the mornings they wake up with huge zits on their faces. It isn’t real life, it’s just a tiny peek in to what they do.

You see a lot of articles shared on social media about ‘what it’s really like to be a famous instagrammer/youtuber/blogger’ etc. and the fact is it ain’t always pretty. They spend such a huge amount of time focusing on how they look to the outside world that there can be a huge danger of stopping interaction with it all together.

So maybe you, like me, need to remind yourself from time to time to step away from the screen and enjoy being you. Does that sound really lame?

God spoke to me so clearly recently when I was throwing a strop about a bad haircut, in my daily devotional I read 1 Peter 3:3-4 and it really resonated with me, it says:

“What matters not is your outer appearance, the styling of your hair, the jewelry you wear, the cut of your clothes – but your inner disposition. Cultivate inner beauty, the gentle, gracious kind that God delights in”

 

Amen & amen

until next time!

One thought on “instagram life and lies

Leave a Reply

